Children & Family Life

Contact Laura Stanger for information about Religious Education, Baptisms, First Eucharist, First Reconciliation. 425-823-0787

The Archdiocese of Seattle requires all Church Personnel (defined as all clergy, all employees and all volunteers who have ongoing, unsupervised contact with minors or vulnerable adults) to take part in our Safe Environments program in three ways: 
  1. Successfully undergo a criminal background check every three years.
  2. Complete the Protecting God’s Children course within 90 days of beginning service.
  3. Read and sign the Archdiocesan policies of conduct.

You may complete these requirements by accessing Virtus database ,  follow the directions under the “registration” tab.  

Celebrating Children at St. John Vianney Parish

  • To the parents of young children, may we suggest… relax, God put the wiggle in children, don’t feel you have to suppress it in His house.
  • Sit toward the front where it is easy for children to see and hear.
  • Help your child follow along in the Mass by suing the Magnifikid booklets provided by the hospitality ministers as you enter church.
  • Sing the hymns, pray the prayers and voice the responses.  Children learn liturgical behavior by watching you.
  • If you need to leave mass with your child, please feel free to do so, but please come back.
  • Remember that the way we welcome children into the church directly affects the way they respond to the Church.  Let them know they are at home in this liturgical space.
  • The parish nursery is available for free at the bottom of the stairs.  It is staffed at the Sunday morning 8:30 am Mass and the 10:30 am Mass.  The sound system from the church is pumped into the nursery.  If you would like to stay down stairs with your child, you may, and you can still hear what is going on in the liturgy.
  • Children’s Liturgy of the Word is offered during the Sunday 10:30 Mass all year long.  Children do not need to register to come. Children 3 years old and up are welcomed, with or without a parent.  They will be dismissed by Father right after the opening prayer and will return to the church right after the Homily.  The kids will hear the gospel reading for that Sunday’s Liturgy and have time to talk about it, and explore it more than they do if they were in the Mass with the adults.   There is no fee for Children’s Liturgy of the Word.

 Baptism Preparation for children and infants:

Parents who are seeking baptism for children who are newborn up to 7 years old are asked to participate in a Baptism Preparation Program.

 

Baptism Class/Rehearsal Baptism Celebration
 7:00 pm Tuesday July 21, 2015  10:30 am Sunday July 26, 2015
 7:00 pm Tuesday Aug. 18, 2015  10:30 am Sunday Aug. 23, 2015
7:00 pm Tuesday Oct. 13, 2015 10:30 am Sunday Oct. 18, 2015
7:00 pm Tuesday Jan. 5, 2016 10:30 am  Sunday Jan. 10, 2016
7:00 pm Tuesday Feb. 2, 2016 10:30 am Sunday Feb. 7, 2016
7:00 pm Tuesday April 12, 2016 10:30 am Sunday April 17, 2016
 7:00 pm Tuesday June 7, 2016  10:30 am Sunday June 12, 2016

Before your child is Baptized we will need the following paperwork:

Baptism Preparation for Children over the age of Seven Years:

Children over 7 years will come into the church through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults, adapted for children.

They will receive the gifts of the Sacraments of: Baptism, Confirmation and First Eucharist, all at once at the during our Easter Vigil Celebration.  Children will attend classes along with their parents to grow and learn about Our Catholic Faith.  They will participate in a number of beautiful rites with the entire parish community praying for them on their journey.

Baptism Preparation for Children over the age of Seven Years:

Children over 7 years will come into the church through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults, adapted for children.

They will receive the gifts of the Sacraments of: Baptism, Confirmation and First Eucharist, all at once at the during our Easter Vigil Celebration.  Children will attend classes along with their parents to grow and learn about Our Catholic Faith.  They will participate in a number of beautiful rites with the entire parish community praying for them on their journey.

First Reconciliation and First Eucharist Preparation 2015-16

First Reconciliation (Confession, penance) Children at or about the age of 7 years must have received the curriculum for the Sacrament of Reconciliation before they begin learning about the Sacrament of First Eucharist.

We will begin our Preparation Session for 2014-15 school year in September.  Dates and times are below:  A supply fee of 75.00 per child is requested.

Sacramental Preparation is a Family Focused opportunity.  We provide parents with the curriculum to teach at home and then ask Parents and children to attend a monthy class as they prepare for these wonderful sacraments.  Child care is provided for younger siblings during our sessions.  Sessions are scheduled on Friday nights at 7:00 pm or Saturday mornings at 10:00 am.  We repeat the same session twice, if on one month you can’t make it on a Friday just come on Saturday instead.

REGISTRATION FORM

First Reconciliation Session #1 Friday. September 25, 2015 at 7:00 pm or Saturday. September 26, 2015 at 10:00 am
First Reconciliation Session #2 Friday. October 23, 2015 at 7:00 pm or Saturday. October 24, 2015 at 10:00 am
First Reconciliation Session #3 Friday November 20, 2015 at 7:00 pm or Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 10:00 am
Celebration of the Sacrament of First Reconciliation Thursday December 3, 2015 at 7:00 pm
First Eucharist Session #1 Friday January 22, 2016 at 7:00 pm or Saturday, January 23, 2016 at 10:00 am
First Eucharist Session #2 Friday, Feb. 26, 2016 at 7:00 pm or Saturday, Feb. 27, 2016 at 10:00 am
First Eucharist Session #3 Friday, March 18, 2016 at 7:00 pm or Saturday, March 19, 2016 at 10:00 am
First Eucharist Retreat  Sunday April 24, 2016 time and place tba
Rehearsal for First Eucharist Friday May 13, 2016 at 7:00 pm
Celebration of the Sacrament of First Holy Communion Sunday May 15, 2016 at 10:30 am Liturgy
First Communicants may lead the may lead the May Crowning Procession on Sunday May 10th at the 10:30 am Mass wearing thier First Communion Clothing!

Mom’s Morning Out:

Children ages 1-5 are invited to join us in the parish nursery from 9:30 am until 12 noon each Wednesday, registration is required. Parents can drop off thier children for child care and some catechesis while thier parent is free to get things done on thier own.  There is a registration form to be filled out and there is often a waiting list for this ministry.  There is a fee of $12.00 per day per child or $24.00 per family of 3 or more.

Click here for a Mom’s Morning out registration form

St. John Mary Vianney Catholic Preschool:

Please see the Preschool tab on the main webpage for a brochure, registration form and information about the amazing gift this program is to our children and families.  REGISTRATION GOING ON NOW FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR!

Catholic Kids’ Catechism Club: PRINT OFF A Catholic Kid’s Catechism Club REGISTRATION FORM HERE!

Story illustration sheet

Putting our heads together to learn about our Faith!

Catholic Kids’ Catechism Club grew out of the dreams of Laura Stanger, our Pastoral Assistant for Children and Family Life, and Chris Lystad, Catholic Kids’ Catechism Club’s Consultant-o-Fun!  They wanted to have the joy and excitement that comes from a Vacation Bible School Experience lived out in our year round faith formation program.

Clubhouses compete against each other in challenges based on each grade levels individual Archdiocesan Curriculum Guidelines.  Kids’ play icebreaker games for points, we pray together, memorize prayers and vocabulary words and complete challenges, that use many senses to bring the meaning of our Faith to life.  We also proclaim the Gospel in an opening activity each week.

Each clubhouse completes tasks with the guidance of thier Clubhouse Leader or othe specialist who help support them.

CATHOLIC KIDS’ CATECHISM CLUB

  • Early Birds– ages 3 years to 5 years or in Kindergarten- During the Sunday 8:30 am Sunday Mass.  We begin our session in room #6 and finish the session in our preschool room Room #2.  Parents pick their child up after 8:30 Mass in room #2.
  • God’s Gang– Children in Grade 1- God’s Gang’s Clubhouse members learn about God and Creation in their first year in Catechism Club. Their clubhouse color is YELLOW  and they gather at the Yellow Mat in room #6 on Sunday mornings at 9:15-10:20 am or at 7:00-8:00 pm on Monday Nights.
  • Meal Makers-Children in Grade 2- Meal Maker’s Clubhouse members learn about the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist their second year in Catechism Club. Their clubhouse color is RED and they gather on the Red Mat on Sunday mornings at 9:15-10:20 am or at 7:00-8:00 pm on Monday Nights.
  • Faithful Followers-Children in Grade 3- Faithful Follower’s Clubhouse members learn about The Catholic Church and Saints in their first year in Catechism Club. Their clubhouse color is BLUE and they gather at the Blue Mat on Sunday mornings at 9:15-10:20 am or at 7:00-8:00 pm on Monday Nights.
  • Busy Bees– Children in Grade 4- Busy Bee’s Clubhouse members learn about The Beatitudes, Spiritual and Corporal Works of Mercy and moral decision making in their forth year in Catechism Club. Their clubhouse color is Green and they gather at the Green Mat on Sunday mornings at 9:15-10:20 am or at 7:00-8:00 pm on Monday Nights.
  • Lucky Sevens-Children in Grade 5- Lucky Sevens Clubhouse members learn about the Seven Sacraments in thier fifth year in Catechism Club. Their clubhouse color is Purple and they gather at the White canvas mat colored with purple marker on Sunday mornings at 9:15-10:20 am or at 7:00-8:00 pm on Monday Nights.

 Catholic Kids’ Catechism Club 2015-16 Schedule

Kids 3 years old through Kindergarten will attend our Early childhood program from 8:30 am on Sundays only.  The class ends at 9:45 am.

Kids 1st Grade through 5th Grade can come to our Sunday Sessions at 9:15 am to 10:20 am or our Monday Sessions from 7-8 pm.

  1. Sunday September 27, 2015 or Monday September 28, 2015 – Kick off parent and child session
  2. Sunday October 4, 2015 or Monday October 5, 2015- session #2
  3. Sunday October 11, 2015 or Monday October 12, 2015- session #3
  4. Sunday October 18, 2015 or Monday October 19, 2015- session #4
  5. Sunday October 25, 2015 or Monday October 26, 2015- session #5
  6. Sunday November 1, 2015 (Daylight Savings time ends) or Monday November 2, 2015- session #6
  7. Saturday November 7, 2015 Cemetery Tour- Holy Rood Cemetery  time to be announced
  8. Sunday November 8, 2015 or Monday November 9, 2015- session #7 FAMILY AUCTION IN THE AFTERNOON
  9. NO CKCC NOVEMBER 15 OR 16 DUE TO PARISH GALA AUCTION
  10. Sunday November 24, 2015 or Monday November 25, 2015- session #8
  11. NO CKCC DECEMBER 1 OR DECEMBER 2 DUE TO THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY
  12. Sunday December 6, 2015 or Monday December 7, 2015 – session #9
  13. Sunday December 13, 2015 or Monday December 14, 2015- session #10
  14. Sunday January 10, 2016 or Monday January 11, 2016 – session #11
  15. NO CKCC JANUARY 17 OR 18 DUE TO MLK.
  16. Sunday January 24, 2016 or Monday January 25, 2016- session #12
  17. Sunday January 31, 2016 or February 1, 2016 – session #13
  18. Sunday February 7, 2016 or Monday February 8, 2016- session #14- Superbowl Sundae and Monday!
  19. ASH WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 10, 2016
  20. NO CKCC February 14, 2016 or February 15, 2016 due to mid winter break.
  21. Sunday February 21, 2016 or Monday February 22, 2016- session #15
  22. Sunday February 28, 2016 or Monday February 29, 2016- session #16
  23. Sunday March 6, 2016 or Monday March 7, 201- session #17
  24. Sunday March 13, 2016 or Monday March 14, 2016- session #18
  25. Sunday March 20, 2016 or Monday March 21, 2016-session #19
  26. No session Sunday April 27th or 28th due to Easter
  27. No session Sunday April 3 or 4 due to Spring Break
  28. Sunday April 10, 2016 or Monday April 11, 2016- session #20
  29. Sunday April 17, 2016 or Monday April 18, 2016- session #21
  30. Sunday April 24, 2016 or Monday April 27, 2016- session #22
  31. Sunday May 1st: 1-3 pm final survivor party!!!
  32. Friday May 6th: 5th grade overnight
  33. Lucky winner for CKCC party!  – date and time to be announced!